Meet your recruitment officer Tomman

Interested in joining? Find information and talk about it here.
Tomman
Captain
Captain

Meet your recruitment officer Tomman

Post by Tomman »

I think I will tell all of you at once my story rather than confusing myself with who knows what about me.
Me and my boys
Me and my boys
First things.... I am legally blind, that is correct, blind. I have a condition called keratoconus, that causes my cornea's to thin over time then become misshapen. The only "cure" for this is corneal transplants, which I have had one. It was just before my son's accident and as a result of doing CPR on him I severely damaged my new cornea so I actually see worse through that eye than the non-transplanted eye. I have been working toward a computer programming degree since 1999, but never managed to finish it do to life getting in the way (most recent attempt for example was foiled by losing my eye sight). I am a bit of a Jack of all Trades, though again my eyes limit what I am capable of doing these days.
My family
My family
Which brings me to..... My family. I am married and have been since 1999 to a wonderful young woman. Together we have 2 boys, ages 6 and 3. My oldest is a handful, but is a normal 6 year old. My youngest has special needs stemming from his accident. My wife is a stay at home caretaker of us useless disabled people.... ;) She really is what has kept our family going since I lost the majority of my sight.